HISTORIQUE DE L’ASSOCIATION CANADIENNE DES ENSEIGNANTESET DES ENSEIGNANTS RETRAITÉS

L’Association canadienne des enseignantes et des enseignants retraités (ACER-CART) a vu le jour grâce à l’appui des associations provinciales d’enseignantes et d’enseignants tant actifs que retraités. Des remerciements très sincères aux personnes qui ont consacré temps et énergie pour partager une vision commune d’une association nationale d’enseignantes et d’enseignants retraités.

En 1984, Marshall Sinclair Wark, alors première vice-présidente de l’Association des enseignantes et des enseignants retraités de la Colombie-Britannique (BCRTA), décida de faire un sondage auprès des autres associations provinciales sur les services qu’elles offraient à leurs membres; cette initiative fut le premier pas vers la création d’une association nationale d’enseignantes et d’enseignants retraités.

Ce fut par l’intermédiaire des associations provinciales d’enseignantes et d’enseignants actifs que les premiers contacts ont été établis, l’échange d’informations se limitant en grande partie aux adresses et numéros de téléphone.

C’est en 1985 que débutent les contacts informels auprès de la Fédération canadienne des enseignantes et des enseignants (FCE) pour discuter de la mise sur pied d’une association nationale d’enseignantes et d’enseignants retraités. En 1987, lors d’un ralliement de solidarité à Victoria, C.-B. organisé en opposition aux politiques gouvernementales en matière d’éducation, a lieu le premier contact formel avec le président de la FCE au sujet d’une telle association nationale.

Élue présidente de la FCE en 1987, Sheena Hanley appuya formellement le principe d’une association nationale d’enseignantes et d’enseignants retraités. Le 2 janvier 1988, Dr. Stirling McDowell, secrétaire général de la FCE, participa à une première réunion au siège social de la BCRTA. On y proposa de tenir une réunion nationale des représentants des associations provinciales d’enseignantes et d’enseignants retraités (APER) afin d’identifier les points d’intérêt commun, de proposer une constitution et de faire une mise au point sur l’importance d’une telle association nationale. On décida d’organiser une première réunion en 1989 à Ottawa. Même si la FCE est dans l’impossibilité de subventionner une telle rencontre, un avis de convocation fut expédié à toutes les APER.

À l’exception de deux provinces, toutes les APER ont décidé de participer à leur propres frais à cette réunion d’inauguration tenue à Ottawa en juin 1989. Les délégués décident que les membres de cette association nationale seraient les APER, et non leurs membres individuels. De plus, l’assemblée formula cinq objectifs, qui furent ensuite présentés aux APER pour fins de ratification.  L’appui des APER fut des plus encourageant.

C’est le e 15 juin 1991au siège social de la FCE à Ottawa, que les délégués suivants ont créé officiellement une association nationale d’enseignantes et d’enseignants retraités:

  • British Columbia RTA, Marshall Sinclair Wark
  • Superannuated Teachers of Saskatchewan, Valdine Johnson
  • Superannuated Teachers of Ontario, Lyle Harkin, Rosemarie Edwards
  • Association des retraitées et retraités de l’enseignemnent du Québec, Léo Coté
  • Provincial Association of Catholic Retired Teachers, Ronald Frauley
  • Provincial Association of Protestant Retired Teachers, Bill Munro
  • Retired Teachers Association of Nova Scotia, J. Allison Dalton
  • Prince Edward Island Retired Teachers’ Association, Winnifred Cutcliffe
  • Canadian Teachers’ Federation, Stirling McDowell

 

L’assemblée ratifiait les points suivants:

nom de l’association: L’Association canadienne des enseignantes et des enseignants retraités-The Canadian Association of Retired Teachers (ACER-CART)
membres: associations provinciales d’enseignantes et d’enseignants retraités
conseil d’administration : un représentant pour chacune des associations provinciales
bureau de direction : un président, un vice-président, un secrétaire à être choisi à chaque réunion nationale
frais d’appartenance : 0,25$ par membre au sein de l’association provinciale, avec un minimum de 50$ et un maximum de 300$
objectifs: les cinq formulés en 1989

 

à savoir :

  1. faciliter et promouvoir la liaison et l’entr’aide parmi les associations membres
  2. promouvoir les intérêts des associations membres
  3. élaborer ses stratégies d’action collective sur des questions d’intérêt commun aux associations membres
  4. collaborer avec d’autres associations sur des questions d’intérêt commun
  5. promouvoir l’excellence en éducation

Le premier bureau de direction de ACER-CART était composé de :

  • Président M.S. (Clair) Wark – BCRTA
  • Vice-président Léo Coté – AREQ(Québec)
  • Secrétaire Mac Hone – STS

La FCE s’est engagée à fournir à l’ACER-CART les services de secrétariat et de comptabilité ainsi que les locaux pour les réunions. Deux subventions sont versées à l’ACER-CART pour l’aider à démarrer, une de 2000$ de la FCE, une de 500$ de la Fédération des enseignants de la Colombie-Britannique (BCTF).

À la réunion du 13 juin 1992 à Ottawa, toutes les APER, à l’exception de deux, étaients représentées. Les délégués, représentant plus de 50 000 enseignantes et enseignants retraités, acceptaient avec enthousiasme l’offre de Stirling McDowell d’agir en qualité de directeur général sans frais suite à sa retraite comme secrétaire général de la FCE et ratifiaient plusieurs résolutions visant:

  1. l’échange des bulletins des APER
  2. une étude sur la mise en œuvre d’un bulletin pour ACER-CART
  3. un format d’énoncé de politique
  4. la préparation d’une constitution avec statuts et règlements
  5. des lignes de communication avec le réseau canadien des aînés
  6. l’entente sur les cinq objectifs originaux
  7. la composition du bureau de direction : une présidente ou un président, deux vice-présidentes ou vice-présidents et le président sortant pour un mandat d’une année suite à son mandat à la présidence

Par tradition, l’’assemblée générale annuelle (AGA) d’ACER-CART a lieu en juin à Ottawa, à l’occasion au siège social de la FCE.

En 2003, l’AGA adoptait une révision majeure de sa constitution, ses statuts et règlements ainsi qu’une nouvelle composition du bureau de direction, à savoir trois directeurs régionaux (région de l’Ouest, région du centre, région de l’atlantique), dont un est élu à la vice-présidence. ACER-CART compte présentement plus de 125 000 membres et ne cesse de croître.

En 2004, des initiatives ont été prises pour établir des liens avec des associations nationales d’aînés partageant des intérêts communs, tel la demande d’un secrétariat fédéral pour étudier les enjeux visant les aînés.

L’AGA de 2005 avait nommé le président comme représentant auprès de CONA (Congrès national des organisations d’aînés), adopté le logo officiel et choisi le nom OPTIONS pour le bulletin de nouvelles de l’ACER-CART. Diverses résolutions avaient été adoptées en faveur du fractionnement du revenu de retraite, la mobilisation pour la création d’une agence nationale pour le contrôle du coût et de la qualité des médicaments d’ordonnance, ainsi que d’autres mesures fiscales en vue d’améliorer la vie des aînés.

En 2006, l’AGA de l’ACER-CART a accompli encore plus de travail sur les statuts de notre organisation, visant à poursuivre notre initiative de l’enregistrer. De plus, des cibles ont été établies afin d’obtenir le statut d’organisme de bienfaisance, de membre de la Coalition canadienne des soignants et du Réseau international pour la prévention de la maltraitance des aînés.

Nous nous sommes incorporés comme association en 2007.  Nous avons augmenté le nombre de régions à quatre avec l’Ontario et le Québec formant deux régions individuelles.  Nous avons changé le titre de « Directeur régional » à « Représentant régional ».  Aussi, l’association « Yukon Retired Teachers Alumni » s’est jointe à la région de l’Ouest.

À l’AGA de 2008, nous avons adopté plusieurs résolutions dont celle pour appuyer un regime national d’assurance médicaments et celle pour la nomination d’un ombudsman pour les personnes âgées.  On a aussi mis l’accent sur la protection des personnes âgées en ce qui concerne les impôts forciers.

L’AGA 2009 a confirmé le développement d’un guide administratif pour incorporer les statuts, les règlements et les politiques de l’Association; a encouragé les communications bilingues de l’Association; a appuyé l’exécutif dans l’établissement d’une liaison régionale et a établi les objectifs concernant le lobbying pour les aînés dans le domaine du financement et de la santé, ainsi que pour garder les services d’une société d’état nationale radiophonique.

À l’AGA 2010 et aussi durant le séminaire sur le lobbying qui a précédé l’AGA, les directeurs de l’ACER-CART ont réitéré leur appui pour sauvegarder le système canadien de la santé.  Ils ont aussi répété leur intention d’améliorer les plans de pensions au niveau fédéral et de protéger les aînés contre la fraude dans les investissements.  Ils ont aussi indiqué leur appui à une déduction plus élevée des impôts pour les dons de charité et finalement ils ont également soutenu les démarches afin de protéger le logo de l’ACER-CART.

L’AGA 2011 a été l’occasion de célébrer notre 20e anniversaire où nous avons mis l’accent sur les anciens présidents. Au séminaire pré-AGA, nous avons commencé à revisiter la structure, le budget ainsi que les services de notre organisation. Nous avons accepté avec regret le départ de l’AREQ. Avec les résolutions qui ont été soumises, il a fallu faire du lobbying auprès du gouvernement fédéral sur des sujets reliés à la loi canadienne sur la santé, l’élimination de l’impôt sur les bénéfices du RPC au décès, la prolongation des passeports canadiens pour adultes pour une période de dix ans, une réduction des impôts pour les adhésions associées aux programmes d’activité physique pour les aînés et l’établissement d’un formulaire national ainsi que d’un régime national pour les médicaments.

Lors de l’AGA 2012, nous avons adopté des changements aux Statuts et aux Articles afin de reconfigurer l’exécutif. La vice-présidence sera dorénavant un poste élu, tandis que nous sommes passés de quatre à trois régions. Nous avons adopté des résolutions nous demandant de revendiquer pour un programme national de médicaments, un programme de recyclage de médicaments, un registre national de don d’organes, ainsi que d’inclure dans le programme national de la santé les soins de longue durée. Nous avons exprimé nos préoccupations face au programme national de pensions. Un comité ad hoc sur la mobilisation politique a été établi pour une année, et nous avons adopté une cotisation à deux niveaux afin d’assurer la stabilité de l’organisation.

L’AGA 2013 a reçu des rapports concernant l’approbation gouvernementale de nos Statuts ainsi qu’une revue de notre fonds de réserve qui s’est vu imposé des dispositions quant à son utilisation et à son niveau de financement. Le comité ad hoc de mobilisation politique, établi l’an dernier, s’est vu reconduit pour une autre année. On a établi une politique afin d’encadrer le travail de ce comité. Parmi les résolutions adoptées lors de l’AGA, plusieurs demandaient plus de revendications politiques, une déduction d’impôt pour le programme « Medic Alert », une étude gouvernementale concernant le logement pour les personnes âgées et un programme pharmaceutique financé par les fonds publics. L’AGA a aussi donné son appui au programme « Écoutez ma voix » de la FCE. Ce programme vise à faire respecter notre droit à l’implication démocratique.

Précédée, d’ateliers sur le lobbying, la collaboration avec les enseignantes et les enseignants actifs, ainsi que sur l’utilisation des médias sociaux, l’AGA 2014 a rendu le comité ad hoc de Mobilisation politique un comité permanent, et elle a demandé la publication d’une nouvelle brochure afin de faciliter le partage de ses buts et de ses revendications. De plus, elle a appuyé les principes de base concernant les soins de santé au Canada et a revendiqué la négociation d’un nouvel accord national pour la santé tout en appuyant le programme « Choisir avec soin » de l’Association médicale canadienne visant à réduire le coût des ordonnances médicales. L’AGA encourage ses membres à profiter, lors des prochaines élections fédérales, des forums des candidates et des candidats afin d’adresser la situation de manque de gérontologues et de généticiens.

 

Présidentes-présidents de l’ACER-CART

 1991-1992  Marshall S. Wark        +  BCRTA
 1992-1993  Mac Hone                  +  STS
 1993-1994  Mac Hone                  +  STS
 1994-1995  Bill Jones  STO/ERO
 1995-1996  Bill Jones  STO/ERO
 1996-1997  Stirling McDowell       +  STS
 1997-1998  Bruce Watson  BCRTA
 1998-1999  Maxwell Mullett          +  RTANL
 1999-2000  Murray Smith             +  RTAM
 2000-2001  Murray Smith             +  RTAM
 2001-2002  Floyd Sweet              +  ARTA
 2002-2003  Floyd Sweet              +  ARTA
 2003-2004  Val Alcock  RTO/ERO
 2004-2005  Val Alcock  RTO/ERO
 2005-2006  Pat Brady  BCRTA
 2006-2007  Pat Brady  BCRTA
 2007-2008  Helen Biales  RTO/ERO
 2008-2009  Helen Biales  RTO/ERO
 2009-2010  Vaughn Wadelius  RTAM
 2010-2011  Vaughn Wadelius  RTAM
 2011-2012  Arnold Hull  RTO/ERO
 2012-2013  Thomas Gaskell  RTO-NSTU
 2013-2014  Thomas Gaskell  RTO-NSTU
 2014- 2015  JoAnn Lauber  BCRTA

 

 

Directeurs général de l’ACER-CART

  1989 – 2001   Stirling McDowell         +
  2002 – 2004   Robert Barker
  2004 – 2008   Pierre Drouin
  2008 – 2012   Norbert Boudreau
  2012 –   Roger Régimbal

Décédé   +

History of ACER-CART

The founding of The Canadian Association of Retired Teachers (ACER-CART) was the result of inter-provincial support and encouragement on the part of retired and active teacher associations across Canada. Thanks are due to all those individuals who shared the vision of a national association of retired teachers and who actively contributed time and effort to make it a reality.

Among the early key supporters were Marshall Sinclair Wark (BCRTA), Elsie McMurphy (BCTF), Robert Buzza (BCTF), Lillian Holeton (BCRTA), Sheena Hanley (CTF), and Dr. Stirling McDowell (CTF).

The first tentative step in the development of a national retired teachers association began in 1984 when M. S. Wark, then First Vice-President of the BC Retired Teachers Association, initiated a survey of other provincial retired teacher associations to determine the services they offered to their members. So little was known about these organizations that contact had to be established through the active teacher organizations of the respective provinces. Compiling a list of phone numbers and addresses was the start to developing a communication link among them.

In 1985 the Canadian Teachers’ Federation was contacted for an opinion about the development of a national association of retired teacher associations, but it was not until 1987 at a Solidarity Rally in Victoria, BC (organized to protest government policies on education) that direct contact with the CTF President elicited interest in the proposal of a national association.

When Sheena Hanley assumed the presidency of CTF later that year, she responded positively to the idea and a meeting with Dr. Stirling McDowell (Secretary General of CTF) was held January 2, 1988 at the office of the BCRTA. A plan resulted to call a national conference of provincial retired teacher associations to consider areas of common interest and a possible constitution. Reasons for the formation of a national association were clarified. A meeting in Ottawa was planned for 1989. One immediate drawback was the cost of a national conference. CTF was not financially able to support this venture but, nevertheless, invitations to attend were sent to all provincial retired teacher associations.

With the exception of only two provinces, all the provincial RTAs sent and funded their representatives to this inaugural meeting held in Ottawa in June 1989. Five objectives of a national association were formulated. It was also agreed that members of the national body would be the provincial associations of retired teachers, not individual teachers.  The conference participants agreed to distribute the five objectives to the various retired teachers’ associations for ratification. The resulting replies were most encouraging!

On June 15, 1991, a founding meeting was held at the CTF office in Ottawa with the following representatives attending:

 

  • British Columbia Retired Teachers Association, Marshall Sinclair Wark
  • Superannuated Teachers of Saskatchewan, McGregor “Mac” Hone
  • Retired Teachers Association of Manitoba, Valdine Johnson
  • Superannuated Teachers of Ontario, Lyle Harkin, Rosemarie Edwards
  • Association des retraitées et retraits d’enseignment du Québec, Léo Coté
  • Provincial Association of Catholic Retired Teachers, Ronald Frauley
  • Provincial Association of Protestant Retired Teachers, Bill Munro
  • Retired Teachers Association of Nova Scotia, Allison Dalton
  • Prince Edward Island Retired Teachers’ Association, Winnifred Cutcliffe
  • Canadian Teachers’ Federation, Stirling McDowell

 

A consensus was reached at this 1991 meeting on:

  Name – The Canadian Association of Retired Teachers
  Membership – provincial associations of retired teachers
  Board of Directors – one representative from each provincial member organization
  Executive – a president, vice-president, and secretary to be selected at each
national meeting
  Membership fee – set at $0.25 per member of the provincial association, with a minimum
of $50 and a maximum of $300.
  Objectives – five objectives were developed in 1989.

 

The objectives were:

  1. To facilitate and promote liaison and mutual assistance between and among Member organizations
  2. To promote the interests of its member organizations
  3. To develop strategies for joint action on matters of common concern to member organizations
  4. To cooperate with other seniors’ organizations on matters of common concern
  5. To promote excellence in education in Canada.

 

The first executive of CART was selected:

  • President  Marshall Sinclair Wark – B.C.R.T.A.
  • Vice-President Léo Coté  – AREQ (Quebec)
  • Secretary Mac Hone  – S.T.S.

 

CTF graciously agreed to provide CART with some printing, accounting and secretarial services as well as facilities for holding meetings. CTF also contributed a $2000 grant to aid the organization, and the B.C.T.F. granted $500 as well.

At the national meeting of CART held in Ottawa on June 13, 1992 all but two of the provincial retired teacher associations were represented. Stirling McDowell’s offer to serve the national body voluntarily as an Executive Director when he retired as CTF Secretary General in 1993 was enthusiastically received. Among the other decisions reached at this meeting, with delegates representing 50,000 retired teachers of the provincial member associations, were:

  1. An exchange of provincial R.T.A. newsletters
  2. Consideration of establishing a CART newsletter
  3. Development of a draft statement of policy
  4. Development of a constitution and bylaws
  5. Contact and possible liaison with a Canadian seniors’ network
  6. Agreement with the original five objectives
  7. Officers of CART would consist of a president, two vice-presidents, and the immediate past president who would serve for one year following the presidency.

 

ACER-CART has continued to meet annually in June at the CTF headquarters in Ottawa.

In 2003, additional work was done to the constitution and bylaws. A system of three Regional Directors was adopted (Atlantic, Central, Western) for the executive, one of whom would be selected as the vice-president.

In 2004 efforts were taken to liaise with national seniors organizations on common issues, such as the development of a federal seniors secretariat.  It was also decided to pay a stipend to the Executive Director.

The 2005 AGM named the president as a representative to the Congress of National Seniors Organizations (CNSO), adopted the official logo, and selected the name OPTIONS for the ACER-CART newsletter. A variety of resolutions were adopted that supported pension splitting, advocating a national prescription drug agency to control costs and ensure quality, and various other tax deduction improvements for seniors.

In 2006 further work was done at the AGM on the ACER-CART bylaws as part of an initiative to become incorporated. In addition, targets were set for achieving charitable status, membership in the Canadian Caregiver Coalition, and in the International Network for the Prevention of Elder Abuse.

Incorporation was achieved in 2007, and the number of regions was increased to four, with Ontario and Quebec each forming regions of their own. The term Regional Director was changed to Regional Representative. As well, the Yukon Retired Teachers Alumni was added to Region West.

At the 2008 AGM several resolutions were adopted on the theme of support for a national drug care formulary, and for the appointment of an ombudsman for seniors. Property tax protection for seniors was another focus.

The 2009 AGM affirmed the development of the approved Bylaws, Articles and Policies into a Director’s Handbook; encouraged the organization’s bilingual communications; supported executive regional liaison; and set lobbying goals regarding financial and health support for seniors, and Canada’s national radio services.

Preceded by a seminar on lobbying, the 2010 AGM reiterated its support for efforts to safeguard the Canadian health care system, improve the federal pension plans, and save seniors from poverty and investment fraud. Direction was also given to support higher tax deductions for charitable donations and to initiate the protection of the ACER-CART logo.

The 2011 AGM was an occasion to celebrate our 20 year anniversary with a focus on our past presidents. A pre-AGM seminar began a process of organizational review of our structure, budget and services. The withdrawal of AREQ as a member was received with regret.

Resolutions passed requested lobbying of the federal government on issues related to the principles of the Canada Health Act, taxes on CPP/QPP death benefits, the extension of passports to a 10 year term, a tax credit for seniors enrolled in wellness/recreation programs, and the establishment of a national drug formulary.

At the 2012 AGM changes were made to the By-Laws and Articles to reconfigure the executive. The Vice-President position was freed up for a direct election, and the regions were reduced from four to three. Resolutions directed ACER-CART to advocate the development of a national pharmacare program; a national pharmaceutical formulary; a recycling program for unused pharmaceuticals; a national organ and tissue donor registry; and to advocate continuing care as a component of the national health plans. Concerns for the national pension programs were raised. An ad hoc political advocacy committee was also established for the year, and a two tier membership fee was introduced to improve financial stability.

The 2013 AGM received reports on the progress for Bylaw changes (approved), and a review of the Reserve Fund that saw targets set for its size and use. The ad hoc political advocacy committee was established for another  year with a policy that provides a framework for its focus. Resolutions passed advocated a more involved lobbying process, to investigate possible use of social media in our efforts, allowing medical deductions for Medic Alert costs, government study and improvements for housing options for seniors, and pharmacare programs. The AGM also supported the Canadian Teachers Federation’s “Hear My Voice” campaign on Canadians’ rights in democratic involvement.

Preceded by seminars on lobbying, collaboration with active teachers, and the use of social media, the 2014 AGM made Political Advocacy a standing committee, directed the publishing of a new brochure to facilitate ACER-CART advocacy, endorsed basic beliefs regarding Canadian health care, advocated the negotiation of a new national health accord, and supported the Canadian Medical Association’s “Choosing Wisely Canada” campaign to reduce medical costs. As well, the AGM encouraged its members to use all candidate forums during the next federal election, and to work together to address the shortage of geriatricians and gerontologists.

Prior to the 2015 AGM, in preparation for a federal election, a seminar on ACERCART relevant issues was held. Representatives of the federal political parties were invited to respond individually to these. The Liberal, NDP and Green parties did so, while the Conservative party declined. At the AGM, various political advocacy initiatives were approved, further collaboration with Members and other outside groups on seniors’ issues was advocated, and lobbying targets for addressing Members of Parliament determined. A new flexible website design was introduced for implementation in the Fall.

At one of the 2016 pre-AGM seminars, delegates worked at updating the strategic plan which was then approved by the annual general meeting. The various AGM reports were evidence of a very successful year especially in political advocacy during the 2015 federal election, and in cooperation with various other organizations in the area of health issues: a national seniors’ health care strategy, a national drug care plan, and support for a renegotiated Canada Health Act. As this was ACER-CART’s 25th anniversary, special attention was paid to this event via a commemorative booklet and special guests invited to the annual banquet.

Presidents of ACER-CART

1991 – 1992   Marshall Wark    +   BCRTA
 1992 – 1993   Mac Hone           +   STS
 1993 – 1994   Mac Hone         +   STS
 1994 – 1995   William Jones   STO/ERO
 1995 – 1996   William Jones   STO/ERO
 1996 – 1997   Stirling McDowell +   STS
 1997 – 1998   Bruce Watson   BCRTA
 1998 – 1999   Maxwell Mullett  +   RTANL
 1999 – 2000   Murray Smith       +   RTAM
 2000 – 2001   Murray Smith     +   RTAM
 2001 – 2002   Floyd Sweet         +   ARTA
 2002 – 2003   Floyd Sweet        +   ARTA
 2003 – 2004   Val Alcock   RTO/ERO
 2004 – 2005   Val Alcock   RTO/ERO
 2005 – 2006   Pat Brady   BCRTA
 2006 – 2007   Pat Brady   BCRTA
 2007 – 2008   Helen Biales   RTO/ERO
 2008 – 2009   Helen Biales   RTO/ERO
 2009 – 2010   Vaughn Wadelius   RTAM
 2010 – 2011   Vaughn Wadelius   RTAM
 2011 – 2012   Arnold Hull  RTO/ERO
 2012 – 2013   Thomas Gaskell  RTO-NSTU
 2013 – 2014   Thomas Gaskell  RTO-NSTU
 2014 – 2016   JoAnn Lauber  BCRTA

 ACER-CART Executive Directors

 1989 – 2001   Stirling McDowell       +
  2002 – 2004   Robert Barker
  2004 – 2008   Pierre Drouin
  2009 – 2012   Norbert Boudreau
  2012 –   Roger Régimbal

Deceased +